Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Do you need a 40V backpack kit with two 5.0 Ah batteries and a charger?
Exact Greenworks SKU 2440102 is BPB40L520-00; the exact page lists two 5.0 Ah packs and a 4A charger. It is distinct from the two-8.0-Ah BPB40L820 package.
Explore this need in the finder →Is 710 CFM enough, or is an even higher published airflow minimum essential?
The exact product page and manual agree on 710 CFM. It meets an inclusive 710-CFM floor but not 711 CFM; this is a manufacturer maximum, not a tested clearing-time result.
Explore this need in the finder →Does tool-only weight meet your limit, or must the ready-to-use weight with batteries be known?
Greenworks lists 10.67 lb tool-only but does not state complete carrying weight with both batteries. A strict ready-to-use cap must not be satisfied using that bare-tool figure.
Explore this need in the finder →A two-battery backpack package, not a bare tool
Greenworks identifies this U.S. configuration as BPB40L520-00, SKU 2440102: a 40V brushless, dual-port backpack blower sold with two 5.0 Ah batteries and a 4A charger. That package is the point of this model. It is a ready-to-start kit rather than a tool-only listing, and the two included packs are not the same capacity package as the BPB40L820 with two 8.0 Ah batteries. Greenworks says its 40V batteries work across more than 75 tools in that voltage family, but check the battery label and the manual’s supported BAF-series guidance before treating another pack or charger as interchangeable.
710 CFM is the stable headline; the air-speed figure is not
The exact product page’s specification table and the page-linked operator manual both give a maximum air volume of 710 CFM. That is the more useful, consistent figure for comparing how much air a dedicated blower can move across a lawn or driveway. It is a manufacturer maximum, not a measured clearing time or a promise about wet leaves, packed debris, or the way a particular pile behaves.
There is a material air-speed conflict in Greenworks’ own listing. The short product summary says 135 mph, while the specification table says 175 mph, which is also the manual’s technical-table value. I could not establish why the manufacturer gives both values or whether a configuration, test method, or revision explains the difference. A buyer who needs a settled MPH threshold should not treat this configuration as verified against that requirement. The 710 CFM claim is repeated; the air-speed claim is not.
Variable control helps with both open space and detail work
The product page and manual document a variable-speed trigger, cruise-control lever, and temporary Turbo boost. The trigger lets you ease off near mulch, gravel, garden beds, or a neighbor’s patio rather than blasting every surface at full output. Cruise control holds a chosen speed when you are sweeping a long stretch. Turbo is there for a stubborn patch, but the manual explicitly warns that using it drains the battery fastest; it makes sense as a short reserve rather than a default setting.
The manual describes an adjustable harness and shows the lower blower tube in two length positions. That combination may be useful for fitting the control and tube to the operator, but a backpack format is not automatically lighter or easier for every body. Greenworks lists 10.67 lb as tool-only weight; it does not state this package’s complete ready-to-use weight with both batteries installed. If your limit is about everything carried, this listing does not answer the question.
What the kit does and does not promise
The manufacturer’s support listing says “max runtime” of 35 minutes and lists 150 minutes for battery recharge with the included charger. Neither figure comes with a work-speed, weather, battery-condition, or measurement basis, and the recharge line does not say whether the time applies to one pack or both. Treat those as manufacturer claims, not a guaranteed session length or a confirmed two-battery turnaround. A 4A charger is in the listed package, but its model number and whether it is a standard or rapid class are not identified.
This is a blower-only machine. The exact package and manual do not document a leaf vacuum, mulching impeller, or collection bag, and the listing does not itemize separate interchangeable nozzles. If bagged collection or a specific add-on nozzle is essential, choose a configuration that explicitly lists it. Likewise, no model-specific sound rating with a usable distance and measurement basis is established here; “low noise” marketing is not a substitute for a number when a local rule or noise limit matters.
Who should put it on the shortlist?
This kit suits a household buyer who wants backpack carrying, 710 CFM of published airflow, a charger in the box, and two 5.0 Ah packs in Greenworks’ 40V family. It is worth comparing with BPB40L820 if you want the same broad 40V backpack format but the two larger 8.0 Ah packs; that configuration has a different battery package and its own weight and runtime limits. Do not infer a particular additional runtime from the capacity difference. For light cleanup in a handheld format, Greenworks’ BL40B201 kit is a lower-output 40V alternative at 350 CFM with one 2.0 Ah battery and charger, although its weight basis is also unknown. If one exact airflow or weight limit is non-negotiable, prefer a product whose relevant figure is clearly stated.
Use and ownership limits
The linked manual labels the machine for household use, says not to use it on wet surfaces or expose it to rain or moisture, and calls for eye protection and keeping bystanders at least 50 feet away. It explains how to adjust and release the harness and says to remove the batteries before maintenance and storage. The manual’s limited warranty is three years, subject to registration, proof-of-purchase, maintenance, and personal-use terms; commercial use is listed among excluded conditions. That makes this a homeowner package, not a commercial-duty recommendation.
Bottom line: BPB40L520-00 is a well-specified 40V 710-CFM backpack kit whose practical distinction is two included 5.0 Ah batteries plus a 4A charger. Its speed, operating weight, runtime conditions, and recharge-time basis are less certain than the headline suggests. It is a reasonable fit only when those unknowns do not conflict with an essential requirement and the household-use backpack format is wanted.
Primary sources: Greenworks’ BPB40L520-00 / SKU 2440102 product page, its page-linked operator manual, and the CPSC leaf-blower recall index.
Key details at a glance
| Maximum published air volume | 710 CFM |
|---|---|
| Manual-listed maximum air speed | 175 mph |
| Manufacturer-listed tool weight (check basis) | 10.67 lb |
| Batteries in this kit | 2 |
| Capacity of each included battery | 5 Ah |
| Nozzles in the kit | |
| Digital blower display | No |
| Weather resistance | Manual says not to use on wet surfaces or expose to rain/moisture; no IP or weather-resistance rating is stated. |
| Limited warranty | Linked manual states a three-year limited warranty with registration and proof of purchase, subject to terms; commercial use is among excluded conditions. |
| Exact package configuration | Exact U.S. SKU 2440102 package lists one BPB40L520-00 40V 710 CFM brushless backpack blower, two 5.0 Ah High Power batteries, one 4A charger and the owner manual. It is a blower-only configuration; no vacuum/mulch bag or separate nozzle assortment is listed. |
| String trimmer in kit | No |
| Leaf vacuum and mulching function | No |
| Battery included in package | Yes |
| Charger included in package | Yes |
| Blower carrying style | Backpack |
| Backpack support harness | Yes |
| Power source | Battery |
| Manufacturer-listed weight | 10.67 lb |
| Weight measurement basis | Exact page calls 10.67 lb tool-only. The complete ready-to-use weight with two batteries installed is not stated; do not substitute the tool-only figure for carrying weight. |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this assessment
- Greenworks 40V 710 CFM Cordless Battery Dual-Port Backpack Blower, two 5.0 Ah batteries and 4A charger / BPB40L520-00 / SKU 2440102
- Greenworks BPB40L520-00 backpack blower operator manual P0804993-02 / document code BLF451, 48 pages
- Greenworks Customer Support Hub leaf-blowers collection page 2, position 10
- U.S. CPSC Leaf Blower recall index; July 2026 Kobalt USB-C battery/tool recall
- Greenworks exact product-page image candidate for BPB40L520-00 / SKU 2440102
- Greenworks BPB40L520-00 operator-manual diagram, printed page 4
Match the blower to your yard and routine.
Compare the exact kit, controls, nozzle and carrying setup before choosing.
