Model assessment · DEWALT

DEWALT DCBL722B 20V MAX* XR® Brushless Cordless Handheld Blower (Tool Only) review

A 20V MAX* brushless handheld blower sold without battery or charger. DEWALT lists 450 CFM, up to 125 mph with the concentrator, a variable trigger and speed lock; the method behind its 62 dB(A) rating is not stated.

Sources checked 2026-10-25 · Our editorial approach

This exact 20V MAX configuration is tool-only: battery and charger sold separately. Its published 62 dB(A) figure has no stated distance or measurement position in the inspected source.

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

DEWALT DCBL722B 20V MAX handheld blower tool body; this B configuration excludes its battery and charger.
The page-linked DEWALT DCBL722B image shows the handheld blower body; the B package excludes its battery and charger. DEWALT manufacturer image linked from the exact U.S. product page.
A useful fit for

A DEWALT 20V MAX owner who needs a compact handheld blower, already has a compatible battery and charger, and values adjustable trigger control plus a speed-lock lever.

The main tradeoff

The exact DCBL722B listing is tool-only, so a battery and charger are extra. The maker lists 450 CFM and 125 mph with the concentrator, but publishes no runtime and does not define the 62 dB(A) rating’s measurement position or distance. A page weight field is not a verified bare-tool or ready-to-work figure.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Does the DCBL722B fit a tool-only handheld 20V blower need when compatible battery and charging gear are already available?

Yes, for someone who can supply compatible 20V MAX battery and charger equipment: the exact DCBL722B page labels the blower tool-only and says battery and charger are sold separately. Its page lists a variable trigger and speed lock. The related DCBL722P1 is the package that includes a battery and charger.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can the DCBL722B meet a 450 CFM minimum while requiring a concentrator nozzle?

DEWALT lists up to 450 CFM and up to 125 mph with a concentrator nozzle, and the exact page lists one concentrator in the box. These are maker claims, not a cleanup-time test. A 451 CFM minimum is above the published figure and should reject it.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does the published 62 dB(A) rating establish a 50-foot sound level for the DCBL722B?

No. DEWALT lists 62 dB(A), but the exact page does not specify a distance or measurement position. That value should not be treated as a 50-foot bystander measurement or an operator-at-ear result; a strict 50-foot sound requirement remains unverified.

Explore this need in the finder →

A tool-only choice for a DEWALT battery owner

DCBL722B is the tool-only configuration of DEWALT’s 20V MAX* XR brushless handheld axial blower. Its exact U.S. product page says the battery and charger are sold separately and lists zero included batteries. The page also lists one concentrator nozzle. That package distinction is more important than the shared DCBL722 name: if you need a ready-to-use kit, compare the DCBL722P1, which includes a battery and charger, rather than assuming this suffix does too.

The blower makes most sense for a household already using compatible DEWALT 20V MAX equipment. Buying only the blower can avoid duplicating a charger and battery that are already on the shelf. If you have no compatible battery, however, the tool-only price is not the full starting cost. Confirm battery compatibility with DEWALT and account for the pack and charger before comparing it with bundled kits from this or another platform.

Use the 450 CFM figure as a ceiling for screening

DEWALT publishes up to 450 CFM and up to 125 mph when the concentrator nozzle is fitted. Those are manufacturer ratings, not a prediction of how quickly your particular lawn, driveway or leaf pile will clear. Air volume gives a useful scale for moving broader debris; a concentrated stream can help direct a smaller patch. Neither figure establishes that wet, matted leaves will move easily, or that the blower will replace a rake for every job.

The exact page lists a brushless motor and a variable-speed trigger. It also names a speed-lock lever. Together, those controls give a user a way to vary output and hold a setting, which can be useful when the task changes from a light path sweep to pushing a denser line of dry leaves. The DCBL722 manual labels the trigger, speed-lock lever, blower tube and concentrator on its cover diagram. Its assembly instructions say to lock the blower tube securely before operating; the concentrator directs airflow into a tighter area.

Noise and weight labels need their own context

The manufacturer page lists 62 dB(A), but it does not define the measurement distance or position in the inspected product information. Do not compare that number directly with a bystander-at-50-feet value or call it a measured sound level at the operator’s ear. The manual’s safety instructions still matter even when a product page describes a numerical noise rating: use the protective equipment and safe operating practices stated in the instructions.

DEWALT’s structured listing also shows 7.17 lb under “Assembled Product Weight.” It does not explain the battery, nozzle or weighing basis. That field is therefore not treated here as a confirmed bare-tool weight or a ready-to-work weight. If weight is a strict ergonomic limit, ask the manufacturer for the configuration-specific figure rather than using this listing as a shortcut. No numeric runtime appears in the exact page or the inspected manual, so battery capacity should not be converted into a promise of minutes.

What changes with your shortlist answers?

Choose battery power and handheld carrying style for the product form. A tool-only requirement with speed hold can include DCBL722B; requiring an included charger or a battery removes it. The package contains zero batteries, so it cannot meet a one-battery minimum no matter how much capacity you own separately. The concentrator requirement is documented, and a 450 CFM floor reaches its published maximum while a 451 CFM floor does not. A 50-foot sound ceiling remains unknown because the page’s 62 dB(A) label lacks the required basis.

Compare it with the DCBL724 family if you want a higher published airflow maximum: that family is listed at 550 CFM and includes different nozzle information, but its exact battery package still depends on the B versus W1 suffix. Compare it with DCBL722P1 if the blower body and controls suit you but you need the 5 Ah battery and charger in the same box. These comparisons address published features and package contents, not measured work rates.

Setup and ownership checks

Read the DCBL722 instructions before assembly. The manual warns not to operate with the tube unsecured, and directs the user to remove the battery before leaving the tool unattended, storing it, adjusting it or cleaning it. It also says not to use the blower on wet surfaces or expose it to rain. These are practical limits, not optional features to infer from an outdoor-tool label. Keep the intake clear and inspect the tube lock before each session.

Bottom line: DCBL722B is the 450 CFM, tool-only member of a 20V handheld family, with a concentrator, variable trigger and speed lock. It is a sensible shortlist candidate when you already own compatible battery and charging equipment and do not require a documented 50-foot noise figure. The DCBL722P1 is the better package comparison when you need a one-battery kit.

Primary sources: DEWALT’s exact DCBL722B U.S. product page and the DCBL722 20V Max Axial Blower instruction manual.

Key details at a glance

Maximum published air volume450 CFM
Batteries in this kit0
Nozzles in the kitconcentrator
Shoulder strap includedNo
Limited warrantyCheck the current exact DEWALT product page and purchase documents for warranty terms; no warranty period is used as a matching condition.
Exact package configurationThe DCBL722B U.S. page labels this SKU tool-only, lists zero batteries and no charger, and includes one concentrator nozzle. Do not use the 5 Ah DCBL722P1 kit contents to describe this package.
String trimmer in kitNo
Leaf vacuum and mulching functionNo
Battery included in packageNo
Charger included in packageNo
Blower carrying styleHandheld
Backpack support harnessNo
Power sourceBattery
Product-page maximum air velocity125 mph
Manufacturer-listed weight7.17 lb
Weight measurement basisThe exact page’s structured field is named “Assembled Product Weight” and lists 7.17 lb. It does not specify the battery/nozzle configuration or weighing method; this value is not used as bare-tool or ready-to-operate weight.

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Match the blower to your yard and routine.

Compare the exact kit, controls, nozzle and carrying setup before choosing.