Model assessment · Toro

Toro 51820 60V 605 CFM leaf blower kit review

Toro’s U.S. 60V MAX 605 CFM handheld blower kit with one 2.5 Ah L135 battery and charger; manufacturer runtime is a low-speed lab maximum and the listed 11 lb weight lacks a stated basis.

Sources checked 2026-10-25 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Toro 51820 red-and-black 60V handheld blower body and discharge tube; battery and charger are not depicted.
The exact 51820 page-linked image shows the red-and-black blower body and discharge tube, not its kit battery, charger or carton contents. Toro does not state whether this image is a photograph or a rendering. Official exact-model Toro U.S. product-page linked image
A useful fit for

A homeowner who wants a Toro Flex-Force 60V 605-CFM-class handheld blower with one 2.5 Ah L135 battery and a charger in the exact package. This is the more complete 51820 family choice for someone who is not already equipped with the compatible Toro battery system.

The main tradeoff

The 2.5 Ah kit makes the setup usable without separately sourcing battery/charger, but Toro’s 90-minute runtime applies to low speed under controlled conditions; its 11 lb weight has no stated bare/operating basis, and numeric sound, force and shape-specific nozzle data remain unknown.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Do you want Toro’s 605-CFM handheld kit with an L135 battery and charger in the box?

The exact 51820 package lists one 2.5 Ah / 135 Wh L135 battery and one charger; the shared manual identifies the included components as pack 88625 and charger 88602. Its sibling 51820T has neither.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is Toro’s published 605-CFM maximum enough for your minimum airflow requirement?

Toro lists up to 605 CFM, paired with up to 120 mph on Turbo Boost in controlled laboratory testing; this is not an independent clearing-time result.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is a verified operating-weight cap essential to your choice?

Toro lists 11 lb for 51820 without defining its weight basis, and the operator manual does not state operating mass. Do not treat it as a confirmed loaded-weight value.

Explore this need in the finder →

Choose this exact package, not just the shared blower body

The Toro 51820 is the battery-included version of Toro’s 60V MAX 605 CFM handheld blower. Its U.S. product page lists one 2.5 Ah L135 battery and one charger in the box. The closely related 51820T is the tool-only package: Toro’s exact product page and parts listing say that no battery or charger is included. Both are relevant models, but they solve different buying problems. The 51820 is the more complete starting package if you do not already have Toro Flex-Force 60V equipment; the 51820T makes more sense only when you have a compatible battery and charger ready to use.

Use 605 CFM and 120 mph as maximum claims

Toro lists 605 CFM maximum air volume and up to 120 mph. Its fine print says those are maximums on Turbo Boost and are based on controlled laboratory testing. They are useful for comparing the published class of the machine, but not an independent prediction of how quickly a particular wet pile, gravel edge or leaf-covered lawn will clear. The official homeowner comparison chart places the 51820 above the smaller 565 CFM 51821 by published air volume, while the 605 CFM 51822 keeps the same stated volume and lists a higher maximum air speed. Those figures describe different operating extremes; they do not establish a measured job-time ranking.

The controls give the user some room between a gentle sweep and a brief stronger push: Toro lists a variable-speed trigger, cruise control and a Turbo-boost button. That is a practical combination for moving loose debris along a driveway without holding maximum trigger pressure continuously, then applying a short burst to gather a stubborn patch. Toro also identifies a brushless DC motor. The product page calls this PowerJet and RunSmart technology, but its marketing explanation is not a substitute for independent performance testing.

The starter battery is defined; the work session is not

The kit’s included L135 pack is identified as 2.5 Ah and 135 Wh. Toro lists up to 90 minutes of runtime based on that battery at low speed in controlled laboratory testing, plus a 64-minute charging time. Treat the runtime as a low-speed ceiling under the manufacturer’s test conditions, not a promise of 90 minutes of mixed Turbo use. The exact product page names one charger in the box but does not identify its model beside the charge-time claim; the operator manual’s component illustration identifies model 88602 charger and model 88625 battery as included with the 51820. A second battery or rapid charger could change your yard-day plan, but neither should be assumed to be included in this exact package.

As a 60V Flex-Force tool, it can be part of a broader Toro battery setup. The manual identifies Toro Flex-Force 60V packs and matching chargers for these models. A buyer who already owns that equipment should compare the 51820T rather than pay for a duplicate battery and charger. If you are starting fresh, the kit saves the separate compatibility check, although the 2.5 Ah capacity is still a modest single-pack starting point for repeated high-output work.

Read the weight and accessory limits literally

Toro lists the 51820 at 11 lb, but the exact product specification does not say whether that number is the bare tool, tool with battery, or another weight basis. I would not treat it as a verified ready-to-use figure or use it to pass a strict operating-weight ceiling. The manufacturer does not list a numeric sound-pressure rating at a stated distance or a numerical blowing-force value on the reviewed exact product and manual pages. Toro’s ergonomic and sound-quality language cannot satisfy a required weight or decibel threshold.

The box list names the blower, battery and charger, while the product copy refers to its blower tube or velocity nozzle. It does not establish a separately shaped flat, tapered or spread nozzle in the package. The 51820 is a blower only: it does not vacuum, mulch or collect leaves. If collecting debris into a bag, a verified nozzle shape, low operating mass or numeric sound limit is essential, treat those as unknown here and compare a model whose manufacturer documentation confirms them.

Manual and availability checks belong to the exact unit

Toro’s Form 3460-487 Rev B operator manual names models 51820 and 51820T beginning at serial 323000001. It describes a residential homeowner blower for moving leaf-like debris outdoors, specifies Toro 60V packs and chargers, warns against use in rain or damp/wet locations, recommends eye and hearing protection, and directs the user to remove the battery before adjustment, cleaning or storage. Those are useful operating limits, not an IP weather rating. For an older machine, use the serial-number label to verify its own manual rather than assuming this version applies to every production year.

The exact Toro page showed a dealer-contact / online-unavailable message when checked, but that is only a page snapshot; it does not establish that all dealers lack stock or that the model is discontinued. Check local availability before planning around it.

Who should shortlist it?

The 51820 suits a homeowner who needs a 605-CFM-class handheld blower, wants one Flex-Force 2.5 Ah battery and charger in the same package, and can accept that the published maximums do not guarantee a particular clearing result. It is less suitable for someone who already owns the compatible power system, needs a two-battery kit, or cannot accept uncertain operating weight or sound data. Compare the 51820T for the same tool without the power kit; compare Toro’s 51821 if you prefer its smaller published airflow/battery package, or the 51822 if its higher stated air-speed ceiling and larger battery are more relevant. Do not infer that those differences alone predict cleanup time.

Primary sources: Toro’s exact 51820 product page, the 51820 serial-range parts listing, the shared 51820T tool-only page, and Toro Form 3460-487 Rev B. The published comparison with other 60V blowers is on Toro’s homeowner blower chart.

Key details at a glance

Maximum published air volume605 CFM
Batteries in this kit1
Capacity of each included battery2.5 Ah
Exact package configurationToro exact page lists one L135 2.5 Ah / 135 Wh pack and one charger; manual Figure 6 identifies pack 88625 and charger 88602 as included with 51820.
String trimmer in kitNo
Leaf vacuum and mulching functionNo
Battery included in packageYes
Charger included in packageYes
Blower carrying styleHandheld
Backpack support harnessNo
Power sourceBattery
Product-page maximum air velocity120 mph
Manufacturer-listed weight11 lb
Weight measurement basisToro lists 11 lb on the exact product specification but does not identify the weight basis; do not treat it as a verified bare-tool or battery-installed/operating mass.

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Match the blower to your yard and routine.

Compare the exact kit, controls, nozzle and carrying setup before choosing.