Model assessment · Toro

Toro 51820T 60V 605 CFM leaf blower, tool only review

Toro’s U.S. 60V MAX 605 CFM handheld blower sold without battery or charger. The compatible Toro Flex-Force pack and charger must be supplied separately; tool-only listing has no included-battery runtime.

Sources checked 2026-10-25 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Toro 51820T red-and-black 60V handheld blower tool body and discharge tube, shown without a battery or charger.
The exact 51820T page-linked image shows the tool body and discharge tube without a battery or charger. It does not establish all package contents; Toro does not state whether this image is a photograph or rendering. Official exact-model Toro U.S. product-page linked image
A useful fit for

A homeowner who already owns a compatible Toro Flex-Force 60V battery and charger and wants the 605-CFM-class handheld blower without buying a duplicate power kit. Confirm that the particular pack and charger are present and serviceable before treating the tool-only purchase as a complete operating plan.

The main tradeoff

Tool-only avoids duplicating the battery and charger, but the exact box includes neither and carries no included-battery runtime. Toro lists 6.85 lb without defining the weight basis; loaded weight, numeric sound, force and shape-specific nozzle details remain unknown.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Do you already own a Toro 60V pack and charger and want the 605-CFM blower body only?

Toro lists 51820T as tool-only: the box contains the blower and no battery or charger. The manual specifies Toro 60V battery and charger families; the 51820 kit includes the L135 pack and charger.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does the published 605-CFM maximum meet your minimum airflow threshold?

The exact page lists up to 605 CFM and 120 mph on Turbo Boost under controlled laboratory testing; neither figure is an independent yard-clearing measurement.

Explore this need in the finder →
Must the blower’s operating weight be documented below your limit?

Toro’s 6.85 lb listing for 51820T lacks an explicit weight basis, and the manual does not give loaded weight; the separately supplied battery is not counted in that unqualified figure.

Explore this need in the finder →

The “T” is a package distinction with real consequences

Toro 51820T is the tool-only version of the 605 CFM 60V MAX handheld blower. Toro’s exact U.S. page says “battery not included,” lists the blower alone in the box, and records zero included batteries and chargers. Its sibling 51820 is the kit with one 2.5 Ah L135 battery and a charger. If you already own a compatible Toro Flex-Force 60V battery and charger, the 51820T can avoid duplicating equipment. If you do not, budget and verify both items separately before treating this as a ready-to-run purchase.

Power and controls are the reason to consider the bare tool

The manufacturer lists up to 605 CFM and 120 mph for the 51820T, with both maximums tied to Turbo Boost and controlled laboratory testing. That is the same published airflow and air-speed ceiling as the 51820 kit, not evidence that the two configurations will produce the same runtime with any battery. A tool-only listing has no included pack, so there is no included-battery runtime to compare. The manual limits compatible power to Toro Flex-Force 60V lithium-ion packs and Toro 60V chargers; nominal voltage from another brand is not enough to establish compatibility.

Toro describes a variable-speed trigger, cruise control and a Turbo-boost button. These controls support a plan of using lower airflow for routine sweeping and reaching for the boost only when the debris needs it. A brushless DC motor is also listed. Those features make the 51820T a plausible fit for homeowners who value an existing battery ecosystem and want the blower body without adding a battery kit, but they do not prove an independent clearing-time or long-session advantage. If a compatible battery is not already on your shelf, the kit-versus-tool-only distinction matters more than the shared CFM headline.

Do not transfer the kit’s runtime claim to this configuration

The 51820 kit’s page lists up to 90 minutes on low with an L135 2.5 Ah pack under controlled laboratory testing, and it states a 64-minute charge time. Neither figure is an inherent runtime for the 51820T: this exact box includes no battery, and Toro does not specify a single pack in the tool-only product listing. Runtime will depend on the actual compatible battery and how the tool is used. Likewise, the kit’s charge-time entry does not identify the included charger model, and it should not be turned into a promise about whichever charger a tool-only buyer already owns.

The exact 51820T product page lists a weight of 6.85 lb, but it does not label that figure as a bare-tool or operating weight. Since the package excludes a battery, do not read the figure as the weight of a ready-to-use blower with a chosen battery installed. Toro does not supply a numeric sound-pressure figure at a stated distance or a blowing-force value on the reviewed exact page and manual. If your shortlist has a strict loaded-weight, dBA or force condition, an undocumented number is not a pass.

What the tool does—and what the listing does not confirm

This is a handheld blower, not a vacuum/mulcher. It pushes debris; it does not collect leaves into a bag. Toro describes the blower tube and calls it a velocity nozzle, but the exact box list does not confirm a separate flat, tapered, spread or round attachment. The product page makes broad claims about an ergonomic grip and control, but it does not establish an adjustable tube, a weather-resistance rating, or a shoulder strap. Do not select it for one of those exact requirements unless the serial-specific parts list or written dealer confirmation supplies the missing detail.

For an existing Toro owner, the relevant setup question is concrete: is the particular Flex-Force battery healthy, charged and compatible, and do you have its Toro charger? The manual says to remove the battery before changing accessories, cleaning or storage; it warns against rain and wet/damp locations and calls for eye and hearing protection. That guidance is useful even for a short patio or driveway cleanup. It does not make the tool weatherproof.

How it fits beside the 51820 and other Toro options

Choose the 51820T over the 51820 only when you want the same published 605 CFM / 120 mph blower capability without the kit’s battery and charger because you already have the Toro 60V setup. Choose the 51820 kit if you need those pieces included; do not treat its 90-minute low-speed statement as a tool-only promise. Toro’s chart lists the 51821 at a lower 565 CFM / 110 mph with a 2.0 Ah battery package, while its 51822 keeps 605 CFM but lists up to 157 mph with a 4.0 Ah battery. These are manufacturer-listed differences, not independent test rankings. A buyer who needs a more forceful debris plan should compare full operating specifications, battery package, weight basis and evidence before deciding from one maximum alone.

Toro Form 3460-487 Rev B covers both 51820 and 51820T for serial numbers 323000001 and up; use the serial label to select the right instructions for a particular older unit. Confirm the exact package contents with the seller before ordering a specific serial-era unit.

Bottom line

The 51820T is a sensible shortlisting choice for a Toro 60V owner who wants a 605-CFM-class handheld blower and does not need a new battery or charger. It is a poor match for a new platform buyer who expects a complete kit, a confirmed long runtime, exact loaded weight, low sound rating, leaf collection or a specified nozzle accessory. Keep those unknowns visible; the package identity is clear, but the performance and fit questions still depend on the job and the battery you supply.

Primary sources: Toro’s exact 51820T product page, the current 51820T parts listing, sibling kit model 51820, and the shared Form 3460-487 Rev B operator manual. Toro’s homeowner chart supplies the published 51821/51822 comparison figures.

Key details at a glance

Maximum published air volume605 CFM
Batteries in this kit0
Exact package configurationExact product page and current serial-range parts entry identify battery-not-included package with zero batteries and zero chargers.
String trimmer in kitNo
Leaf vacuum and mulching functionNo
Battery included in packageNo
Charger included in packageNo
Blower carrying styleHandheld
Backpack support harnessNo
Power sourceBattery
Product-page maximum air velocity120 mph
Manufacturer-listed weight6.85 lb
Weight measurement basisToro lists 6.85 lb on the exact tool-only page but does not explicitly define whether the figure is bare-tool or another configuration. Operating weight with a separately chosen battery is unknown.

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Match the blower to your yard and routine.

Compare the exact kit, controls, nozzle and carrying setup before choosing.